#condolences diary

I’ve stuck with my strategy of writing key scenes that I’ve always known would be included. This has largely worked. I’ve bumped into a few questions, like what would this character do next immediately following this scene? But I’m not worrying about that now. I’m just hitting the big, back-of-the-box bullet points.

Currently, I’m writing one of the three main character’s climaxes. This is something I’ve been thinking about for… years now. Once I get it drafted, I know there’ll be a sense of loss. You know, now that that’s done, I can’t dream about brilliantly writing it anymore now that I’ve brilliantly written it.

Then it’s back to finding other key scenes. My hope is once I’ve exhausted what I think are the key-scene possibilities, I’ll have less space in which I find gaps in the narrative. But I’m not fully confident this’ll happen. I may find that I have all the key scenes I could’ve possibly come up with and still feel like there’s stuff missing or not connecting. Not sure what I’ll do then, but the book won’t work without the bullet points, so I’ll worry about connecting them later.

Unfortunately, as I’m trying to finish up a serviceable draft of 8-BIT, I’m not spending day after day on the book. I hope I’ll crank out a serviceable draft of it before I turn 50. Don’t hold me to that, though.

~ by Anton A. Hill on February 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
