#condolences diary

I’m back in the saddle, a bit. After I finished the latest pass on my horror project, I decided I’d return to my previous writing schedule of Mondays = novel, Tuesdays-Wednesdays = rewrites, Thursdays = new material, and Fridays = whatever I want or nothing at all.

It doesn’t work.

I realized very quickly that novels need more than one day a week as that’s only 52 days a year and not nearly enough time to get a draft finished much less a revised draft. So now I’ve realized I probably need to do multiple projects on multiple days. So, starting today, I’ve already written a bit on condolences and I’m soon gonna move on to 8-BIT.

But on condolences: As I’ve undoubtedly mentioned before, the first half of the book, or at least what I imagine to be the first half, kind of just spilled out of me. The second half has been a greater challenge because it’s less planned out. And that’s something I’ve realized is that I haven’t had a sufficient plan. I got the suggestion recently of writing the end, then the beginning, then filling in the middle. I’d obviously already written from beginning to middle, so whew, that was taken care of. As of a few minutes ago, I wrote a pass of the end. I call it a placeholder because, beyond some very basic essentials, I assume it’ll change plenty. But it’s done. Now I have to figure out the rest.

I’d always had a bit of an outline in mind, but somewhat intentionally wrote blind. This wasn’t a giant mistake, I don’t think, but it has led to a great deal of lack of direction. So one of the things I did recently was lay out all the sequences (the major pieces of dramatic action) in their own folders and dropped already written material into them in their approximately appropriate palces. For now, this is serving as a temporary plan, a minor means of organization, as I figure it all out. But what I plan to do is fill in the blanks in the semi-organized fashion and fix things as I go.

For example, there are a couple of scenes that I have yet to write which I know woudln’t fall in the first act, nor in the third, and probably not in the first half of the second half, so for right now, they’re going in the second half of the second act. Will they stay there? In their hypothetical current form? No idea. But I need to be able to wrap my head around it somewhat.

So next, I’m gonna write the scenes that I’ve been meaning to write and place them in approximately where I think they should go. Then, later, I’ll go back and figure things out. I think.

~ by Anton A. Hill on December 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
