condolences diary

At long last I’m updating this. Yes, that means there’s an update to be had. At last count, I was past page 270. That was on Google docs’ count. Things have changed, however. I was tricked into using Scrivener and they have this nifty feature where I can split chunks of writing into this new fangled thing called a “chapter.” I did that. But, what Scrivener didn’t tell me was that in doing so, I don’t see an automatic page count. And besides, apparently in fiction (and non-fiction presumably), it’s not the page count that counts so much as the word count.

Problem.

See, I don’t think in terms of word counts because I mostly write screenplays, which don’t think in terms of word counts either. So, when I see something like “2,000” words, I might as well be reading “2,000 nooglihoogs.” As of now, I have no real idea how many pages other than more than 270.

A very encouraging thought, though, is that including what I believe is all the “chapters”, the book is now about 12 chapters long. More or less. And as I might’ve said, I’m approximately half way through the story. Does this mean that the book will be 24 chapters long? Eh, I don’t know.

All I know is that I’m writing about two pages a day. Here’s hoping I have a decent manuscript by summer.

~ by Anton A. Hill on December 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
