Entourage fucking lied to me!!

On a recent episode of Entourage, Ari Gold is about to lose both Jessica Simpson and Aaron Sorkin as clients. In Simpson’s case, 1 of her complaints is that she hasn’t heard from Gold in a year, even after her dog died. In Sorkin’s case, it seemed more he felt that overall not only was he not being handled well, but that he also ultimately didn’t need Gold for his career. By the end of the episode, Gold brings Simpson a new puppy of close to the same breed as her dead dog. He also sorta helps hook Sorkin up with Simpson.

Some might recall back in the 3rd season, Gold freaks out when it looks like Chase is about to fire him. Gold does whatever he feels is necessary to keep Chase as a client. In the end, Chase fires Gold anyway, but not before Gold sincerely expresses his regret at having lost Chase a deal, and his promise to do better in the future.

Enough background.

A week ago, I fired my manager, Jeanne Elfant Festa, of Piper Cub Productions. I won’t go into every reason why, except to point out that she was, in the least, ineffective. I really liked her on a personal level, but as a manager and producer attached to my projects, it simply wasn’t working out. Full disclosure, unlike Gold’s clients, I fired her over e-mail. Why?

I’ll tell you.

Months back, when there was a possible deal coming up, it became clear to me that not only was money not forthcoming, but that I probably couldn’t expect a contract. Ridiculous, I know. Especially considering that the company involved is a legit company with several produced projects, many of which you’ve heard of. So it wasn’t like they were incapable of offering money or a contract. They simply weren’t. I pointed all this out to Jeanne.

She got pissed.

She told me all kinds of things of relative verifiable veracity. “No one’s spending money on development right now!” and “I feel like we’ve gone over this a million times!”, etc. Yes. She was yelling at me for asking perfectly reasonable questions about professional expectations for both me and them. I wasn’t asking for $1M up front. I wasn’t asking for sole credit. I was asking for some indication of pay and some legal document assuring me of such.

Judging from her reaction to my questions, I realized that if I were to have any kind of conversation on much bigger issues, such as our continuing professional relationship or lack thereof, I could likely expect a similar reaction in the least, but likely much more exhausting.

Fuck that.

So there we are. I did it over e-mail. So sue me.

Now to what’s really bothering me. Remember how Gold begged Chase to stay and brought Simpson a fucking puppy? Now, I know I’m not Aaron Sorkin or Jessica Simpson. Maybe one day I’ll be Sorkin’s equivalent. Regardless, after the years of association Jeanne and I have together, I was perhaps not expecting her to beg to keep me or promise to do better, but I was expecting something. Anything. What have I, in the week since firing her, heard?

Not 1 peep.

No angry phone calls. No e-mails demanding to know why. No profuse apology for sandbagging me in the Gasmer meeting. Fucking nothing. It’s been pointed out that neither she nor I lost anything really. And that’s true. She had no impending commissions (though this is arguably entirely due to the reason I fired her). But it has struck me as very odd that after all we’ve been through in the last few years… nothing.

But you know what? That’s fine. As I said in my firing message, I wish her the best. And I truly do. Good luck getting The Asset to screen. Greener pastures await.

~ by Anton A. Hill on August 8, 2010.

One Response to “Entourage fucking lied to me!!”

  1. […] The busiest day of the year was August 21st with 23 views. The most popular post that day was Entourage fucking lied to me!!. […]

Leave a Reply

 
