I was a (two) dollar (gold) whore.

Full disclosure first. I was employed yesterday at Goldline Intl. as a customer service rep/phone monkey. It was good pay for a full day of work with pretty simple duties.

Goldline fired me.

My temp agency let me know by the time I got home. The official word was that it wasn’t “a good fit.” Why? I dunno. As far as I could tell, I did well given the circumstances of minimal training and being thrown right in. My usual character traits of occasional sarcasm, hoyty-toyty-ness, on-the-sleeve liberalism, and really-on-the-sleeve atheism never came out to play. So, assuming my personality flaws and other obvious factors had nothing to do with it (which I don’t know), what else could it possibly be?

I’m a gimp.

I explained to my agency that, though I didn’t advertise it, I was open about being visually impaired. It kinda had to happen. I had to look at a computer screen all day and make quick decisions based on the data presented there. My immediate supervisor was very, very sweet and accommodating. She made adjustments for me and even printed up a list of contact numbers in white-on-black.

However!

If an employer has a choice between a special-needs candidate and a regular, non-gimpy one, whom are they gonna pick? The problem with this is with little laws like the ADA, corporations can get in HUGE trouble for making such business decisions because the decision itself is prejudice against the gimps.

However again!

A corporation won’t get into trouble unless you can PROVE that their termination decision was related to your gimpiness. So, whether it was because I’m a gimp or not, it’s impossible to prove and so no legal action will likely take place.

But that’s not even my point!

Don’t worry. I’ll get to it. Second things second.

The best call I got all day was the following (paraphrased):

“(Man’s voice, strong Southern accent) Hey, I just wanted to thank you guys for sponsoring Glenn Beck. That’s all. I just wanted to thank you for that.”

I’m not kidding about the quote or the accent. I had to fight not to laugh. But I answered courteously. I mean, shit, I don’t give a crap about Glenn Beck or this guy and cool that he’s all happy (the guy, not Beck). But then I thought, sponsoring Glenn Beck? I know Goldline has his endorsement emblazoned on its web site, but an endorsement is not the same as sponsorship.

I checked it out.

Lordy, lordy. So not only is Glenn Beck an official sponsor, so are Dennis Miller, Fred Thompson, Mike Huckabee, and a host of other who’s who of Fox News talking heads.

Interesting.

Now, my reservations of Fox News aside, I thought it was a little odd that so many Fox people were sponsoring a gold company. I mean, that’s a little shifty, isn’t it? It’s a little conflict of interest? Then I found out that not only do these people sponsor Goldline, but at least on Glenn Beck’s show (and possibly others), he actively promotes the ownership of gold as part of financial advice in the content of his show. Like as in (not an actual quote) “I want you to buy gold and I want you to buy it from Goldline and now watch a Goldline commercial probably featuring me.”

To be fair, I couldn’t give a shit about what product Beck is hawking on his show. Gold, trained gorillas, dog poo, doesn’t matter. It’s highly inappropriate and unethical for him to be giving financial advice or news on his show that is directly connected to one of his sponsors. Granted, he doesn’t hide the fact that he’s a sponsor of theirs and vice versa, but it’s still a huge conflict of interest.

But that’s not even the best part. This is:

The above aired very recently before I worked at Goldline. It had such an impact that we were handed separate scripts of what to say to ease the worries of current and future customers. Thankfully, I didn’t have to read mine. After I saw the above, I found the following, posted the same day I’d worked at Goldline:

Beyond Beck being a petulant, pissy, childish dickhead, I find it deplorable that given the above allegations, he’s not only not distancing himself from Goldline, he’s even more agressively defending them! Actively aiding in the swindling of middle-class Americans and retirees and calling it news? I don’t think even O’Reilly would sink that low. Beck, I hope they paid you a LOT!

~ by Anton A. Hill on July 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
