I finally grew some nads!

I’ve been meaning to contact a couple of biz people for a while now. In 1 case, years. What stopped me? Well, the well-worn advice that the bigger boys only play with other bigger boys so it’s not worth even trying to play ball because, well, you’re visually impaired and so will miss the ball if thrown at you, which it won’t be because the big boys only play with other big boys. Now, this advice may very well be true. In fact, in most cases, it is. But I got to thinking a few months ago. So what? Sure, it might be going against the standard advice. Sure, it may not lead anywhere, but what have I got to lose?

I started small. I contacted a small boy. He didn’t play ball with me, but we talked about how it’d be nice to play ball. He said he might play ball with me. So, not a total waste fo time. Another, bigger boy at first seemed like he might play ball, but then he very emphatically told me he wouldn’t ever play ball with me. The 3rd, biggest boy?

I never even tried.

Finally, today, I called the biggest boy. I basically said, look, I know you probably don’t wanna play ball with me, but this other kid said you should and I have some really nice balls we could play with. They’re really bright, cool colors and they bounce really high. To my surprise, the boy (well, actually, the boy’s friend, this girl) said sure. He’ll think about playing ball with me once he’s had a chance to practice bouncing with my pretty balls.

So easy.

So then, I called the smaller boy. Sure, he’d told me a few months ago that he never wanted to play ball with me, but I thought, hell, it’s a big playground. There are lots of kids here. He probably doesn’t even remember me. I mean, he is a lot taller than I am. He probably didn’t even look at me last time. So I called. I told the boy’s friend (another little boy) about the girl who’d said that I have pretty balls and how they really will be fun to play with and this little boy said sure, send over descriptions of your pretty balls, and, if my friend likes the way they sound, you can send the actual balls over and he’ll see how well they bounce.

So fucking easy.

Now, I know I have no guarantee that these boys, big and small, will think my balls bounce all that well (they do!), but I’m glad I gave myself the chance to find out.

~ by Anton A. Hill on April 9, 2010.

One Response to “I finally grew some nads!”

  1. At what point do you just build your own playground? Cuz I think you should.

Leave a Reply

 
