Shriekfest

Burning Atlanta made the Semi-Finals. I never even heard about a Quarter-Final round. Nor do I know how many entries there were nor the number of entries that made it this far. I wish I could be more excited about this, but since this script has placed equally in at least 1 other contest, and since I have no guarantee that this placement will mean anything to the life of the script, I’m not sure how to feel.

1 thing I am sure of is that I’m a touch annoyed at the fact that this is the 3rd time now that this script has been recognized over superior scripts of mine. It’s teaching me a bit of a lesson. Maybe it’s time I write things that are solely for commercial appeal yet that have ideas or characters or what have you that do appeal to me.

I’m also not sure how to feel about the fact that my thrillers are generally doing better than my comedies. For years now, I’ve considered myself a comedy writer and yet the thriller genre keeps calling to me. But not in a good way. More in a
ugly-girl-I-went-on-1-date-with-who-won’t-leave-me-alone kind of way. And yet 2 of my more recent pitches fall basically into the thriller genre. And more than 1 person has told me that comedies and thrillers sell well So part of me is telling me well, maybe you should write a couple thrillers and see how it goes.

Maybe I should.

Oh, but then since I’ve enjoyed comedy and that manager/producer told me writers can only do 1 genre until they’re successful and then can branch out, I said, then it’s comedy for me.

Was I wrong?

I dunno.

~ by Anton A. Hill on September 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
