Makin’ music

No, that is not a euphemism for sex. For those of you who’ve known me longer than 5 years know that one of my adulthood-long hobbies has ben composing. You also know I have no real talent for performing, other than piano. And some may even know I did an EP many years ago entitled Splashing in Pavement, for which Vern Smith (RIP) recorded and engineered and Ian Strandberg (still alive) designed the album art. This was right when iTunes was exploding, so the idea of doing a CD wasn’t nearly as paleolithic as it is today.

Anyway, due to what I don’t know, but around the time that I cut said EP, I sorta stopped messing with music. In fact, the muse left me almost entirely. Sure I thought about songs and song ideas still, but committed absolutely nothing to paper.

Then Apple came out with GarageBand. I had used this software called Encore (RIP) which worked pretty well. But damn. GarageBand just beats the fuck outta Encore. It took me a while to figure it out, but now that I have the basics, I can’t believe how I survived creating music with Encore, or how Beethoven created music without hearing! Oh, that’s right. He was a genius. Heh.

So I’m back in the saddle. What does this mean to anyone but me? Not much as I have absolutely no professional aspirations whatsoever. However, with iTunes and mp3s and all that goodness, I can foresee a day not too far from now when I’ll put my shit on iTunes and make all of 2 or 3 cents.

See, Succinctrix? Positive thinking! I said “will” make not “may” make.

~ by Anton A. Hill on June 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
