SAG votes yes.

I have mixed feelings on the recent SAG-AMPTP contract controversy, mostly because I’m neither an actor nor a producer. Thus, I have no direct personal stake in the outcome. I have indirect stakes as, as a writer-director, the results of the vote will ultimately affect me, but since I have no influence upon the vote, I’ve not committed to it.

That being said, I do have opinions on the issue and have tended to lean on the “No” side. Although since I haven’t read the contract, my opinion is almost entirely based on the “vote No” videos posted on YouTube etc.

What’s my point? That it’s over and I sincerely hope SAG got what it wanted, for in my opinion, management aka producers aka anyone with power and money will NEVER give labor what it does not demand.

~ by Anton A. Hill on June 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
