Writer’s Network

On a whim, I just checked Fade In.  The whim is that I wanted to see if the quarter announcement for the Fade In Awards had been made.  It hadn’t.  But, it said “15th annual Writer’s Network… winners” so I clicked on that.  Though I’ve now placed semi twice in this competition, I’ve never won.  I don’t expect to win this time.  Why?  Because after following the link, I found this text:

“We are currently in the process of contacting finalists chosen in the 15th Annual Writers Network Competition. Once all finalists in a category have been contacted, we will post the winners names here.”

In general, the winners aren’t that many.  5-10.  It doesn’t take that long to call 5-10 people.  Since I haven’t yet gotten a call this week, I’m pretty sure I’m not a winner.  But it’s fine.  I’ve won or placed in enough things that I have a good amount of confidence as a writer.  That and the fact is, if I were to write to folks at agencies or producers at production companies about my placement, they’d all say “Huh?” because after the top 3-5 screenplay contests, everyone else is, well, everyone else.  Why, if I know this, do I enter?  Um, ’cause I like to build my confidence and be able to say i’m an award-winning writer?

Is this thing on?

~ by Anton A. Hill on April 8, 2009.

One Response to “Writer’s Network”

  1. Congratulations on your latest awards for 12 Days and FOJ..I hope you’re getting some good attention as a result.

Leave a Reply

 
