Just heard from a friend

at a major animation studio.  When I say “friend” I don’t mean like Ian, Tim, Mahesh, and others.  I mean this guy and I went to school together, reconnected many years later, and are now at very different points inour careers, mainly that he has one, and I still have barely one.  I had written to him to let him know I’m back in town and that we should hang out.  I honestly meant that.  I mean, if there were an opportunity of work at this studio, cool.  But I also like the guy so I figured it couldn’t hurt to see him and chat.  Well, he says he has no time for that.  I almost feel like I shouldn’t have written, but then I’d feel like a puss.  And if there’s one thing I hate, it’s feeling like a puss.  And the fact is, I need to know these things.  I need to know who’s willing to connect, to help, and who isn’t.  I’m glad i know.  And I wish him no ill will.  As I said at the beginning of this, we’re at different points.  Now if by some amazing hap, I get signed with this agency this other guy recommended and they by some hap get me into this studio’s door, well, cool.  Then this friend and I will have coffee.  Until then, though, plenty of time to age.

~ by Anton A. Hill on December 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
