Had a dream I visited Candy

in Orange County.  It was REALLY fucking weird.  Not the visiting part, but all the little details.  The clearest part I remember was finding a train station basically in a sewer.  I had a pillow with me, my wallet, and nothing else.  I was dressed, but I didn’t have anything packed.  i wasn’t even wearing shoes.

For those who don’t know, getting from LA proper to Orange County isn’t that hard.  There are usually a few trains a day that go between the two.  The harder part is that the schedules usually work out to be entirely glued to commuting hours.  So there’s a dozen between 4am-7am, nothing forever, then a bunch more from 6pm-8pm.  In the dream, I think I was in the station around 7pm or so.  However, in the reality of the dream, you couldn’t just jump onto the train.  You had to verify that there were seats left.  In reality, this is bullshit.  You just buy a ticket from a machine and get on.

So I talk to this surly lady at the ticket counter and she starts the process of getting my ticket ready.  She asks where I’d like to go.  I say Orange (or Irvine, I can’t remember).  She says there’s 3 different stations in Orange alone.  As I’m deciding, she starts the process and these punks show up and get in my way.

These aren’t really dangerou kids.  They’re more like Seth Green’s character, Seth Green, in Entourage.  The only thing I’m really afraid of is that they’ll take my pillow which I’m regarding as a supremely important item.

As the lady is still processing my ticket, I wonder if this is all a good idea.  Should I really take off to Orange or Anaheim to go to Disneyland?  Is it really worth it?  Can I get back?  In reality, this’d be crazy easy.  I jump on the train, am in Candy’s area within an hour or so, if she’s off work, she grabs me, we’re at her place in minutes, and no problem.  So clearly the dream was yet another of anxiety.

Sweet anxiety.

Oh, Brian Flemming wrote back.  I was quite pleased to see he had.  He had some very good things to say.  I’ll write him back when I feel up to it as my energy is quite low at the moment.  But if you see this, Brian, know that I’ve already been doing what you suggested and very much appreciate the suggestion.  For not having gone through this pain and not knowing me at all, you’re good at finding the, er, silver lining?  Okay, I’m lousing at describing what you’re good at.  Suffice it to say, I appreciate your time and thoughts.  When the fuck is the next film coming out??

~ by Anton A. Hill on November 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
