One good thing. One crap thing.

I’m about to miss Entourage.  I can’t tell you how much I love this show.  Sure, it’s a little, er, sexist.  Sure it’s about a pretty-boy actor who has no real problems and gets laid all the time.  Sure it’s also about rich people who party all the time.  Sure, it reveals to me the reality that my high school years were the emotional (albeit partially self-inflicted) dump they were.  But it’s so damn much fun!!  The show, not my emotional dump.

And I know it’s cheesy and dumb, but watching Entourage not only makes me laugh and care about Vinnie and his buds, but it also gives me hope that I and my creative friends will also find paying-the-bills success with our creative endeavors.  Although I think Jeff already has.  Oh, yeah, and Ian too.  Well I’m next, mofos!

Now the cool thing.  I gotta call you out, Kevin.  So I’ve known Kevin Kane since like the first week of grad school at AFI.  I can honestly say he’s one of the sweetest guys I’ve ever met.  He’d been working on this untitled, home-brewed film for YEARS.  But he did it.  Little by agonizing little, he made it.  Then he got into a film festival.  I don’t remember the name of it.  Sorry, Kevin.  Anyway, I just a couple minutes ago found out he got distribution!  Yay, Kevin!!  Did Kevin tell me?  No.  I had to find out by happening upon his imdb page.  But now it’s on the top of my NetFlix list.  I can’t WAIT!

All hail the Windstorm (Kevin’s film)!!

~ by Anton A. Hill on September 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
